Getting Ready to Put on the Warrior Mom Cape, Again

We’ve all donned our Warrior Mom capes when it comes to our children.  Fighting for what they need at school, calling out the bullies at the neighborhood pool, calling the Services Squadron commander when the summer camp program let my daughter crisp fry to a crackly crunch at the beach, telling the doctor that they won’t get that flu shot.

I’ve copied school board members and cluster superintendents on e-mails to the principal of a former school, I’ve told school administration that “the school psychologist will not work on my son’s case and make sure you keep her away from him,” I’ve called the school counselor when a persistent bully called my daughter a pervert.  Yes, I’ve donned my Warrior Mom cape on more than one occasion.  And now it’s time to pull it out again.

A big transition

As I think about my son starting middle school next year I’m reminded of Dory in “Finding Nemo” when she says, “Just keep swimming, Just keep swimming.”  Click photo below for video.

 

Middle school will be an interesting transition for my son, one that I’m worried about.  Children on the autism spectrum don’t always deal well with transitions. This will be going to a new school with more kids.  He’ll have to get used to having a locker, dressing for gym class and finding his way from class to class in a much larger facility.  He might not be able to eat lunch with his two friends anymore.  I hope he will make some new friends.  He’s such a great kid!  That’s not even counting the academic things.

Planning for change

It’s already begun.  In fact, perhaps it began with his last IEP meeting when his special ed teacher mentioned that she might recommend self-contained classrooms for him in a couple of subjects.  And so I’ve just scheduled a meeting with the special education department chair to observe the self-contained classrooms.  A week after that my son will go with his class to visit the school and the next night is the curriculum night for parents.

What will those classrooms be like?  What will be best for my son?  What will help him to fit in the best?  What electives should he take? Where will he succeed?  These are all questions I hope will be answered when I go for this observation.

Just keep swimming, just keep swimming.

This autism thing has been something that we’ve had to take one day at a time, one minute at a time, one situation at a time.  It’s a journey.  There’s no getting around that.

Ever since my son was in kindergarten, I’ve never been able to leave him alone to do his homework.  If I do he will write a word in the blank even if it’s not the answer just to try and fool me into the fact that he did his homework.  He takes SOL tests and circles an answer even if it’s not correct just because he wants to be done with the test.  For some reason I have not yet been able to communicate to him why these SOLs are important.

My son is capable of so much and he’s very smart.  I have to figure out how to get through to him so he will understand why school is important and why he should do his very best.  It’s frustrating and tiring to have to sit with him while he’s doing his homework to make sure things are getting done because if I don’t I’ll get a note home the next day … “Science homework was not completed. Math homework was not finished.” Even though he said he did it.  I must continually check everything.  And, I sure hope he gets this homework thing down soon because I don’t remember a lot of the stuff anymore.

Now as he prepares for middle school I will check everything.  Fortunately my daughter went to the same school so I already know some of the teachers and the counselors.  I was pleased when she was there are hopefully it will go as smoothly when he is there.

But for now, I will prepare to don my Warrior Mom cape.  It’s time to get ready to do what’s in the very best interests of my son.  It’s what all us good Moms must do.

Can I just say I’m not looking forward to puberty?  That’s a different story for another day.

2 Comments

  1. What are your superpowers?

    • Ann, I like to think they’re shielding my children from bad things, and standing up for what they deserve and what is right. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Life Made Whole

equipping you for your WHOLE life

Health, Home, & Happiness

Sharing my stories

The Teacher in Room 10

Sharing my stories

AUTISM DADDY

Sharing my stories

Common Sense Homesteading

Homesteading: Using sound judgement to be self-reliant, emphasizing home food production.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

PDD WORLD

Sharing my stories

We're Not in Kansas Anymore

Sharing my stories

Running From Hell With E.L.

The home of E.L. Farris online

Șic și clasic - "Chic & Classic" luxury fine arts, entirely handcrafted, original design

Cand cumperi arta nu cumperi doar ceea ce vezi si pipai cumperi sufletul unui om, sufletul artistului pentru ca el/ artistul s-a uitat in sufletul lui si a scos de acolo ce a gasit

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Empowered Sustenance

Eat well and heal!™

Menopausal Mother

Sharing my stories

Brain Chaos

A journey to peace of mind

Beyond Autism Awareness

Unique Perspectives on Autism and Families on the Spectrum: providing news, opinions, inspiration, and more. Knowledge is everything, for us and our kids. -courtesy of Healthy Aspirations, LLC

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

