Not Everyone Has a Good Attitude about the Real Meaning of Christmas

The other morning I woke up and was looking at my Facebook notifications when I saw one from my niece that said something to the effect of, “Don’t tag me in this bullshit stuff again!”  Uh-oh.  I knew I didn’t tag her in anything, but the next notification down revealed that my sister had tagged her in the following photo:

Now, I don’t have any problems with this photo because I believe this, the birth of our Savior, is the real reason for Christmas.  And, I know my sister means well but she might not want to tag EVERYONE in the family who’s on Facebook unless she knows what they truly believe.  If it were me, I would probably share the photo on my wall for those who agree to enjoy and share with their friends.

Then I went to my niece’s Facebook page and she had a post about how she was going Christmas shopping and she hates Christmas and wishes she lived somewhere where they didn’t celebrate Christmas.  Whoa!

I thought it sad that she have such a negative attitude about a wonderful holiday because she is such a beautiful young lady.  Since I’m not very close to her (she lives on the other side of the country and I’ve only seen her a few times in her life) I have no idea why she feels this way.  However, I thought her response to being tagged could have been handled more politely so I sent her a note:

Hey XXXXX,

I saw Aunt XXXXX tagged you in a post that she also tagged me in. And, I saw your response to it. I’m not sure she will see your response because it was a photo from another site, but try to cut her a little slack, OK? A simple “Please don’t tag me in these type of posts anymore,” would probably suffice.

Hope you find a new job and that you get some nice Christmas gifts. Gift cards are always easy and make a nice gift if you don’t want to spend too much time shopping.

Love,
Aunt Heather

 

Her response was to unfriend me and I’m sorry about that.  So, I sent her another little note:

You know XXXXX my intent was not for you to get pissed at me but Aunt XXXXX’s husband is dying and that’s the only reason I was asking you to cut her some slack. I’m sorry you felt the need to unfriend me over that message.

I hope that someday my niece will learn compassion towards people who don’t share the same beliefs that she does.  The Lord knows this is still something I’m learning about.  I also hope she will find some happiness in the season of the one who was born on this day, and died on the cross so that we may have eternal salvation.

If you’ve never taken the time to read the story of Christmas, I invite you do so so.  Find out about the baby born thousands of years ago.  You can experience real peace if only you will just believe.

For more information, read the Christmas blog at Gospel.com

Let’s all practice peace during this Holy day.  God bless you, my friends!

Leave a Reply

Life Made Whole

equipping you for your WHOLE life

Health, Home, & Happiness

Sharing my stories

The Teacher in Room 10

Sharing my stories

AUTISM DADDY

Sharing my stories

Common Sense Homesteading

Homesteading: Using sound judgement to be self-reliant, emphasizing home food production.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

PDD WORLD

Sharing my stories

We're Not in Kansas Anymore

Sharing my stories

Running From Hell With E.L.

The home of E.L. Farris online

Șic și clasic - "Chic & Classic" luxury fine arts, entirely handcrafted, original design

Cand cumperi arta nu cumperi doar ceea ce vezi si pipai cumperi sufletul unui om, sufletul artistului pentru ca el/ artistul s-a uitat in sufletul lui si a scos de acolo ce a gasit

~Cruising through my Life~

journey since 1989...

Empowered Sustenance

Eat well and heal!™

Menopausal Mother

Sharing my stories

Brain Chaos

A journey to peace of mind

Beyond Autism Awareness

Unique Perspectives on Autism and Families on the Spectrum: providing news, opinions, inspiration, and more. Knowledge is everything, for us and our kids. -courtesy of Healthy Aspirations, LLC

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

